Hello, again.

Just a quick post to let you know I haven’t died. I have now officially moved, and most of the unpacking is done. I’m starting to sort things out and focus on writing again.

While unpacking, looking for work and completing assignments, I committed to NaNoWriMo. I really should have journalled my journey, but I didn’t think about it until now. Maybe, next year.

NaNoWriMo Logo
NaNoWriMo Logo

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is short for ‘National Novel Writing Month’. It’s a writing challenge in which you commit to writing 50,000 words in the month of November, or an average of 1,667 words a day (which I think actually makes 50,010 words by the end of the month). It’s done by thousands of writers world-wide, which creates an amazing community of encouragement, and you upload your word count on the NaNoWriMo website. The goal is to have 50,000 words by the end of the month. You don’t have to finish the story, and you don’t have to have it perfect or even have all the scenes in the correct or final order. It’s just a challenge to sit your butt in a chair and write a minimum of 1,667 words a day for a month.

It’s been an interesting experience committing to writing a minimum of 1,667 words a day. A few days I really struggled to make it. I had to set smaller targets. I gave myself a goal of fifty words, then a reward, then another fifty words, then a reward, just to get through.
Other days I’d be so deep into the story I’d written over 3,000 words before I knew it.

Having that daily word target was a daunting, but at the same time, exciting. I think what made it possible was the accountability. I had writing buddies who could see my word count. They could tell when I slacked off. Which wasn’t often…only one day in the month did I not at least make the minimum word count. It was the next day when I pulled off the over 3,000 words, so I didn’t feel too bad. On the plus side, I had some very nice emails from my writing buddies encouraging me. And I sent a few of my own. It was awesome to see the efforts of my writing buddies. One of them even hit 50,000 words by the 20th of November and kept going. Awesome job.

While I have actually reached the target, I know that tomorrow the word count will drop. Everything I wrote in the month, I kept…because, well they were words I had written and for NaNoWriMo, that’s what counts. However, there are a few scenes that no longer fit into the story, so they need to go. I will need to continue to work on the story before it becomes a ‘manuscript’, it’s not finished yet.

I’m not sure I’m going to continue to write a minimum of 1,667 words a day after today, at least not until I’ve finished school. I think if I were to continue the daily word count, I’d have to find an accountability / writing buddy. I think I need that knowledge that someone else will know daily (weekly?) what my word count target should be versus what my word count actually is, otherwise, I think it would be too easy to find myself something else to do instead.

And that would be bad. Right?

5 thoughts on “Hello, again.

  1. Congrats on sticking with it all through the month! 🙂 I just did Writing 101 and I never made all 21 days. 😉 And I think it’s totally okay if there are days when you write nothing much … and days when it’s double what you had intended. As long as you keep writing, that is what really counts. And you always do.

  2. Hello again, good to hear you are settling in, nice to have a home again.
    All the best with your writing and looking forward to next year and maybe a book, lol, no pressure, i can wait.👍👍👍👊

  3. Congratulation on completing NaNo!!! Was that your first one?
    I’ve been doing NaNo for 11 years, but this year I quitted halfway through. I blogged about it on my blog. Wasn’t an easy decision, I don’t like abandoning challanges, but I do think it was the best thing for the story.

    I always come to the end of NaNo exhausted. The NaNo average daily wordcount is slightly over my own so it is a effort for me. After that, I always need to recharge. But NaNo it’s a great way to get into the swing of writing everyday. Only for that, it’s invaluable, in my opinion 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

