Thank you, and Goodbye

Photo: Goodbye by woodleywonderworks
Photo: Goodbye by woodleywonderworks (CC by 2.0)

 

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted as regularly as I normally do recently. I had some hard thinking to do. And some prioritising of my life, as one should do every now and then.

What do I really want to do with my life?
What is actually important?

You see, it’s been a pretty tough two-and-a-half years. I’ve worked full-time, studied part-time, written and published 4 books and attempted to be involved in my family. I love writing, I really do. But I live in an area where writing conferences, retreats, workshops, author talks and networking opportunities are far and few between. I go to as many as I can, but the last one in my area was five months ago. (Well, the one I could attend at any rate. I didn’t have a car for the one two weeks ago.)

I see a lot of events going on in other parts of the state and the country. However, to attend even the closest ones is a four-hour drive minimum. And the really good ones I want to go to are a two-hour plane flight. Plus accommodations, food, and the flight home again. It’s too far out of my reach. Even after  I finish my diploma next year, and have more time for writing, it will still be out of my reach. What kind of writer would I be if I’m isolated from those opportunities? Yes, I have the internet, but the internet doesn’t provide interaction with real people. (You know what I mean.)

I have two choices. Move more than 2,000klms from where I am currently living…or quit writing.

And so, after much debate, doubt, and anguish it really is goodbye.

It’s goodbye because I have had to make a very, very hard decision.  One that I was in tears over. One in which I have to take a breath, close my eyes and leap. Because if I don’t at least try, I will regret it for the rest of my life. One in which I am very, very glad to have a loving supporting husband, and amazing, wonderful friends and family – all of whom believe in me. You see, it’s not an easy choice to resign your full-time job, when you have no job to go to, and move your family and everything you own more than 2,000klms away from home just to follow a dream

A dream which may very well come to nothing.

Am I scared? Absolutely.
Am I telling myself I’m stupid to give up a full-time job in this economy? You bet ya.
Am I really doing this? Apparently.

Goodbye to Far North Queensland. Goodbye to friends. Goodbye to my family. Goodbye to the life I’ve known for years.

I will still need to write around a job (when I get one), study (for a little while longer) and family. But I will be able to take advantage of so many more opportunities and the biggest leap of all. Really taking the chance to focus more on writing, and getting books out there.

Over the next few weeks, our house will be packed into boxes and we will make the long drive down to the Sunshine Coast Hinterland to start our new lives. I don’t know how often I will be able to update this blog during that time. But when we get settled and figure out what internet we have available, I’ll make sure to post an update.

So here goes. Deep breath. Wish me luck, and I’ll see you on the flip side.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Thank you, and Goodbye

  1. You are making the right the decision, follow your heart and it will always turns out well, dont worry to much because it doesnt help, i will miss you here but I know that you have to go and follow that dream, i did the same thing several times and it always worked out well. So, of you go, write heaps of books and become a famous author, i am looking forward to read them all. All the best, ivy

    • I will miss you, too. I think you are probably one of my biggest face-to-face fans, and I love that you enjoy talking about my books (and other things) with me. You’ve challenged me to write more books a year in the past, so here goes. I’ll definitely keep you updated.

  2. That’s a very brave decision and I’m happy you are in the conditions to make it.
    I should probably do the same, but unfortunally, my family isn’t in the condition to support such decision, that’s why I’m happy yours is. I know it’s a scary, big leap, but if you really feel it is the right thing to do, it will turn out well, I’m sure of it 🙂

    I’ll be waiting for you update, whenever they come.

  3. I wish you all the best! I know that it can’t have been an easy decision to make, but it sounds like you have the love and support of all your family and friends, which is a huge help. Hopefully we will meet one day when you visit Melbourne or when I visit the Sunshine Coast. In the meantime, keep on writing…

  4. Best of luck! I’ve made a similar decision twice: once to move over to Ireland (though it was for job finding reasons, not writing) from Poland, and recently: to drop the life in Ireland I’ve been building, get rid of most of my belongings, and move over to US, so I know it’s not easy and it requires a lot of courage.

    • Yes, courage is a big requirement. Though, the closer to the move I get the less scared and the more excited I am. I only hope the reality isn’t too far removed from the expectation.

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

