Confessions of a Cereal Killer 4

Photo: Lettuce by Ruth Hartnup (CC BY 2.0)
Photo: Lettuce by Ruth Hartnup (CC BY 2.0)

The other day we started our own hydroponics system. Just a small one.
1 metre x 50 cms (about 3 feet x 1 foot – ish, maybe. I’m terrible at metric to imperial conversions.)

At any rate, it’s pretty small as hydroponic systems go.
A few months ago we saw a documentary on aquaponics and kept searching for info on it. It’s fascinating. Using fish water and stones to grow plants.

No dirt.

If you’ve read my confessions of a cereal killer  (one, two and three), you’ll know my track record with plants isn’t very good. My epiphany was, they only liked me when there was no dirt involved.

Hello, aquaponics.

We wanted to try one. We have a miniature courtyard and that’s about all the space we have. So, small was our only option. Too small, unfortunately, for aquaponics. So we thought we’d give hydroponics a try. Kinda like aquaponics, only without the fish. You use organic liquid fertiliser instead.

Our ‘bed’ has 3 types of lettuces in it, 6 seedlings of each.

We planted them in pearlite and set their little tootsies in the water. And they did well.
For the first few weeks.

You see, in hydroponics the pH levels of the water is important. It needs checking weekly and adjusting when required. Plants work best in pH levels of 6-6.5. Our tap water is higher than 7.6, so we have to keep adjusting.

Planting the seedlings was the easy part. Getting the pH levels right – not so easy. We’ve been at it for a week now and we’re still not in the correct range for the tiny plants. I’m kinda worried. With my track record and plants, this may just be the last for our seedlings. Hubby tells me we’ll get the pH levels right soon and I hope he’s right.

The idea of growing our own food is amazing. Going out to the courtyard and picking greens for dinner would be wonderful. Literally minutes from field to plate. Me…growing food. All plausible.  If my black thumb doesn’t rear its ugly head, that is.

Here’s to success and living plants.
Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Cereal Killer 4

  1. Best of luck! I used to be pretty good with some of the hardier herbs (mint is very tough to kill and lavender can sure put up with a beating), but veggies and salad things generally wither before my gaze. And let’s not talk about picky flowers – when it comes to orchids I’m positively lethal…

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

