Cusp of a brand new year.

Photo: Sunrise by Stephen Bowler (CC BY 2.0)
Photo: Sunrise by Stephen Bowler (CC BY 2.0)

2016
A brand new year.

2015 just went by so fast.
I completed my 2015 New Years Resolution…to have another book published. In fact I did it twice – take a bow, Nova (Nephilim Code #1) and Edward (Nephilim Code #2).

I lost my father-in-law this year, my best friend moved out of town, and I experienced my first author event…even though I wasn’t a participant.

Those were the five big events that I remember. Strange, as I sit here trying to recall particular moments, I find that I am unable. It was just a year. All the days blur into each other.
Suddenly 2016 is just around the corner and I’m reminded of a song lyric from the musical ‘Into the Woods’.

But if life were only moments,
Then you’d never know you had one.
– Baker’s Wife; Into the Woods

Life in 2015 was only moments, and I can’t tell that I’ve had one. Certainly, I must have had. There were 365 days within the year to have one, or two.

Since 2013, my New Year’s Resolution has been to have a book published within the year. I’ve three books published now, and one on the way. I think it’s time for a new New Year’s Resolution.

My New Year’s Resolution for 2016 is to notice the moments.

To take the time to notice them and perhaps write them down, so that when I’m facing 2017, I can pull them out and recall them. Just little milestones would be enough. The moments I did something for the first time. The moments I did something by myself that I’ve always needed help for. The moments I learned something new. The moments I succeeded in something that has been a struggle. The moments that made me laugh. The moments that made my cry. The moments with friends. The moments I didn’t give up.

Don’t worry, I’ll publish another book in 2016 too. And it will be added as a wonderful moment in the year.

What about you? How was your 2015? What moments do you recall?

3 thoughts on “Cusp of a brand new year.

  1. 2015 big thing was :year of house hunting and buying, little things, weekend camping trips, daytrips, beachwalks, enjoying life. Enjoy the little things, one day at a time.😄

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

