Christmas shouldn’t come with ‘humbugs’.

 

Photo: Lights by Taryn  (CC BY-SA 2.0)
Photo: Lights by Taryn (CC BY-SA 2.0)

 

As I settle in for Christmas I look at the gifts I’ve left to wrap. It’s a small bundle this year. And you know what? That’s okay.

I wandered through this season feeling a little disillusioned this year. Usually I love Christmas. But this year I must have stumbled into a grown up view of it. All I heard was concerns about budgets, how long it takes for Christmas baking, and how the store didn’t have the I-pad (whatever number it was) that their eight year old son wanted. I heard how much fuss it is to decorate, and about the fights, and how Christmas was just all too hard.

Sadly, this Christmas seems to have lost the joy.

I can’t wait to get back to my usual view of Christmas. Of lights and sparkles, of helping out neighbours, and families getting together to enjoy what they have. Of traditional Christmas carols resounding with hope. People joining in and working together, laughing, and speaking of memories. I can’t wait for Christmas to be resonant with, well Christmas again.

I don’t like this grown up view of Christmas. It’s depressing. “Bah-humbug.”

I think Dr Suess had it right, and I think most ‘humbug-grown-up’ people have forgotten.

“It came without ribbons! It came without tags! It came without packages, boxes or bags!”
Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t thought before.
“Maybe Christmas,” he thought “doesn’t come from the store. Maybe Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”

I hope that your Christmas is more than fights, hassles, and tears. I hope you find joy and hope and sparkles. I hope you find the Christmas in Christmas.

Have a very Merry Christmas, be safe, and enjoy those you love.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas shouldn’t come with ‘humbugs’.

  1. I don’t think I can be of much help here. I’ve never been too fond of Christmas as a festivity and this year is worse than ever. I don’t feel festive at all.
    But I think, as most things in life, it all depends on ourselves. The way we feel inside. Only we can build the experience we want 😉

    Happy Christmas anyway. and especially, have a fantastic new year full of success, health and fulfilment 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

