It is finished.

Photo: Glass of Wine by Maelick (CC BY-SA 2.0)
Photo: Glass of Wine by Maelick (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Oh my gosh, there were days in the last eight weeks that I thought I’d never say the words ‘it is finished’. But it is. It is finished.

The final first draft of the second version for Zeph (Nephilim Code #3) is finished.

What a relief.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m much rather be writing than a lot of other things I could name, so I’m not complaining. But there is a relief, a lifting of the world, when a challenge has been placed, faced, and completed. And I also had fun.

This time, hubby didn’t pick it completely apart. This time he gave it a 9.5 out of 10. The 0.5 was for spelling and grammar mistakes.

Um…it was a first draft.

Oh well. I’m still happy with that.
The first run through edit has also been completed and the manuscript is now in the hands of my Beta Readers.

Let the nail biting nerves ensue.

I had the weekend off. As in absolutely nothing to do with writing. Other than a few things for RWDU I needed to get out of the way, so maybe in a round-about way, I did something to do with writing – but no actual writing of story words. No plotting. No research. No character questionnaires.

Nothing.

It was nice. Weird, but nice.

For eight weeks while Zeph took up all my free time, I did nothing but my day job and writing. That was it. I didn’t get any of my studies done for school, so I’m back to my studies. Studying at an online collage has its advantages, but I really have to get a move on it. Oh, and now my family are starting to become familiar with what I look like again, and let’s not even begin to talk about the neglected housework.

Isn’t reality great?

But Zeph (Nephilim Code #3) is finished. I am now going to have that glass of wine.

4 thoughts on “It is finished.

  1. LOL! This all souds so familiar… only that I’m not done yet 😉

    There is a sense of relief when you finish a draft. I don’t think it’s because you’re tired of it, but because you see the story being born. You see it coming to the shape it is supposed to have. It’s a fulfilling sensation that feels like relief but it’s in fact a different thing.

    Enjoy the break… then have fun with your betas 😉

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

