Dreams and the daily grind

 

Photo: Asleep at the wheel by Aaron Jacobs CC BY-SA 2.0)
Photo: Asleep at the wheel by Aaron Jacobs
(CC BY-SA 2.0)

Ana Spoke recently posted this on her blog – Why dream about tomorrow when you can live it today

I’m happy for her, that she will live the ‘writer’s’ dream. To be a full time writer. At least for six months. I hope it lasts longer than that. This is my dream too. To be a full time writer. In that all elusive ‘one day’, I’m sure I’ll get there.

At the moment I have a full-time job, and I write around that. I also write around a part-time study course and my family. I’m a writer, but I’m a writer on the side. I don’t do a too bad a job of it. After all I’ve got 3 book already published and one nearly there. But living ‘the dream’ around the daily grind can be exhausting. What keeps me going is the notion that I will be a full time writer, someday.

I’m not stupid. I know that dreaming with a plan of ‘someday’ means that more likely than not, the dream will never eventuate. I’ve seen it time and time again. I have my goals. I simply don’t know how long it will take to get there. I’m happy…maybe ‘happy’ isn’t the right word, but I’m…assured in the knowledge that I am taking it one step at a time. On those days when it is all too hard, and the road ahead is too long, I can look behind me and see how far I have come.

I have my goals. Originally when I started, I wanted to publish 3 books a year. I made the goal, when I didn’t really understand the time it took to publish a book. The amount of re-writing, editing, editing, re-writing, editing, re-writing…oh and did I say, editing…that goes into a book. Plus the amount of time it takes just to write a book in the first place. I knew people say you can write a book in 14 – 30 days. That flabbergasts me. Until I realised, they mean actual writing time. Not all the research and brainstorming time. That’s extra.

Now I have a different goal. I will publish only as many books a year as I can write, edit and re-write in a year. If that’s 3, fantastic. If it’s less, than I’m not going to kick myself.

One of the main reasons I can’t follow Ana’s example is simple. Lack of finances available to do it. Yet. I’m working on it. This is one of my goals. And it’s getting closer. I’m exciting that it is getting closer. It’s going to take a few years yet, but each month, I can see it getting there.

My goal is to make a set amount for three years in a row from my writing before I can take my next step, which is to drop to part-time work.

Following that I have a second amount to aim for. This also needs to be obtained for three years in a row before I can drop to being a full-time writer.

I just hope and pray, that I have the discipline and fortitude it takes to be a full-time writer and not be sucked into hours playing on social media and other distractions. When I do this – I want to do it…not play at doing it. Also, I’m not going to give up the working life completely. At least I don’t plan to. From what I’ve heard, writing can be a lonely profession. And I simply can’t see me with no human interaction except via online friends, my imaginary friends…um characters, and my husband for days on end. I’d go mental. I’ll sign up to volunteer somewhere. Just to keep in touch with humans occasionally.

So until I can live the dream on its own, I’m going to continue living it amongst the daily grind. But one day…

7 thoughts on “Dreams and the daily grind

  1. You know? I don’t really dream to be a full time writer. I’m like you, I’d go mental. But I would like to have a part-time job that would be mine and I could organase. My job now is so hectic that I have a hard time organising my time. that’s what harts me the most.

    Let’s see. I don’t have a supportive family, which doesn’t make things easy either. But hey, like you I’m working on it 🙂

    Let’s hold in it!

      • Which partially, I’m already am. I mean, I already have a part-time job and I write most of the rest of the time. I just don’t feel like I’m a writer because I haven’t published anything yet, and I’m not satisfied with my job (though I love it, I’m a bookseller) because I don’t have any power to organise my time.

        But I’ll sort it out 🙂

  2. That sounds like a great plan! In sure you’ll make it – a plan and determination is all you need. I’m really impressed you’ve managed to publish three books with a full time job AND a family!

    I’m actually thinking that in the future it will be writing with occasional consultancy work – so that I can pick and choose when to go to the office. At least that’s my plan 🙂 I need to go back there occasionally – where else would I get my comedy material??

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

