Liebster Award – Blog Hop

Liebster Award Logo
Liebster Award Logo

A while ago (so long ago in fact that when a Twitter friend mentioned the original post, I went to have a read and discovered that my name was on the list and had been the whole time. Also that I’d been told at the time, (back in May) but that I’d completely forgotten because it was so long ago) Myk Pilgrim aka @PlastiCastle had nominated me on his blog – Myk Pilgrim’s  Little Plastic Castle – for the Liebster Award.

Now, I have to admit, I had no idea what the ‘Liebster Award’ was all about. After tapping my friend, ‘Google’ on the shoulder, I found it was an ‘award’ – or more accurately – a chain letter type thing, with the intent on introducing readers to new blogs. Now, as you may be aware if you’ve read my blog for a while, I’m not a fan of chain letters. I think they are vile time wasters and I’m one of these horrid party-poopers that never continues the chain.

So why the exception? Because I like the idea of introducing readers to new blogs. Plus I like the word ‘Leibster’. In German it has a few meanings – dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart – but it’s all about sharing the love.

On the outset, the rules appear very simple.

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog. (I hope that mentioning him counts)
  2. Answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  3. Nominate other bloggers.
  4. Give those bloggers 11 questions to answer and let them know they’ve been nominated

Coming up with 11 questions is going to be interesting, but I’ll face that challenge in a little bit.

I have to face another challenge first. To answer the 11 questions posed to me by Myk.

1.What books are on your night stand right now? I mean really. Photographic proof, please.

Really? You want me to fight all the junk on my night stand (which I feel more comfortable referring to as a bed-side table btw) to identify the books? Well past the hairbrush, ribbons, bucket of bobby-pins, my phone, my watch, several pens, a few USB sticks, random pieces of jewellary, water bottle, alarm clock, my coaster and my coffee cup, there’s not much room for books. That’s not to say that I don’t have books there…hang on a sec, while I unearth them.
Alright, when I said, I didn’t have much room for books…I didn’t know how many I had on my bed-side table.
16
Are you sure you want photographic proof?

Photo: Bedside table pile of books by TP Hogan
Photo: Bedside table pile of books by TP Hogan

So what do I have here? And I’m not so sure I want to know what this all says about me…or my housekeeping skills.

3 x books on Preserving (A little course in Preserving, A Year in a Bottle, Out of a Bottle)
2 x books on biscuit (cookie) decorating (Brilliant Biscuits, Biscuiteers Book of Iced Cookies)
1 x book on cake decorating (Stencilling on Cakes)
2 x ‘For Dummies’ books (Fiddle for Dummies, Making money on E-bay for Dummies)
1 x Compete Idiot’s Guide book (Compete Idiot’s Guide to Social Media Marketing)
1 x Instant Expert book (Instant Expert – Photo Skills). That’s still there from when I was researching for Nova (Nephilim Code #1)
4 x Novels (Minions – book of the film (that one was left behind by my sister who has 3 kids under 6), Integrate by Adele Jones, The Friday Night Debrief by Kylie Asmus (as yet unread) and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (also as yet unread and belongs to a friend who has moved out of town. Oops)
1 x Bible
1 x Notebook for writing down dreams which may lead to story sparks.

2. First thing you do when you sit down to write? No lying, I’ll know if you’re lying.

Place my coffee cup on its coaster.

3. The first fictional character you fell in love with? I’m talking in sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G luuuurrrrvvveee.

Sorry to disappoint, I’m not the type to ‘fangirl’ over a book boyfriend. So, I don’t have a ‘sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G luuuurrrrvvveee’ relationship with any fictional character.

4. When and where do you do most of your reading?

A book in my hand = reading. The ‘when’ and ‘where’ is superfluous.

5. Is there a book that you absolutely hated, I’m talking fire of a thousand suns kind of stuff.

There have been several I’ve struggled through, and a few I’ve not been able to finish, but none that I really ‘hated’. Most recently, the book I had to struggle though was ‘A Game of Thrones’ (A Song of Ice and Fire #1). I’ve never watched the TV series, mainly because I don’t have a political head, and the politics involved in the book is so amazingly complex, I ended up giving up on the threads of the story and just reading the book chapter by chapter. Yes, I reached the end of book one, but I wouldn’t read any more of the series. Not because I ‘hated’ the book, but just because it required far more brain power than I was prepared to use for ‘escapism’.

6. Your favourite thing/item on your writing desk/space? Bobblehead? Nerdy mug? Cat? Lack of cat?

Ha, if my husband was answering this, he’d go for the ‘lack of a cat’ option. He’s not a fan of cats.

However, since I’m answering, I’d go for the wooden carving of the entwined couple. It’s slightly stylised so the couple are long and thin, but they look at each so adoringly. It was a gift from my husband when I first started writing. When we first ever set up a desk for me to write at, (instead of the ergonomically incorrect setup of a laptop in bed) he told me to leave the room. When I came back, the carving was set right next to my husband-made-fresh-and-hot cup of coffee.
I first started writing romance before finding I had more fun with the Urban Fantasy/Paranormal genre, so it’s appropriate in more ways than one. Plus, to me it really meant he wanted to support my writing…since gifts from my husband are rare, he’s not the gift giving type.

7. What was the last book that you read? and would you recommend it? If not why not?

I’m assuming you mean fiction, (and talking about ‘Preserving’ is a little limiting) so that would be – Integrate by Adele Jones
It’s a YA, set in Brisbane, Australia and it asks the question – if a breakthrough medical and scientific experiment cured you of a debilitating disease, what right does the scientific/medical community have over your body? It’s an easy read and doesn’t quite answer the question, but there is a sequel in the works. It’s less about the science and more about being ‘abnormal’, as it were, and wanting to live a ‘normal’ life.
And, sure, I’d recommend it.

8. Do you have a default read? Something you keep going back to?

Does the Bible count?
Nope.
Then my answer wouldn’t have to be – not really. There are too many new books to explore. Having said that, I do re-read books. Even, ones I first read as a child.

  • Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis
  • What Katie Did (and the two sequels What Katie Did at School, What Katie Did Next) – Susan Coolidge
  • Wheel of Time Series (although I’ve not yet read to the end of the series – has it actually ended yet?) – Robert Jordan
  • Tomorrow When the War Began Series – John Marsden

You know what? I can’t actually think of any more that I go back to read.
I’m more likely to enjoy an Author and continue to search for more of their books, then to re-read and re-read the same book.

9. Best time of the day to write & preferred beverage to fuel said session?

I’m not sure I have a ‘best time’ to write. I have a ‘default’ time. With a full-time day job and a part-time study course, the only time I get to write is 0500 – 0700 in the morning…and anytime on the weekend I can sneak off to write. I suppose this could be the main reason Zeph is taking so long to finish.
As for the ‘preferred beverage to fuel said session’, since it’s so early in the morning, I suppose you can guess.
Coffee.

10. Blue, black or red pen? Please substantiate, there will be brownie points for correct answers.

Blue or black. Depends which pen I pick up. I’m not fussy. Having said that, when I want to slow my writing and really think over what I’m putting on paper, I use a ‘V-line’ pen. It’s kinda like a cheap pleb’s disposable version of a fountain pen. I’d love a real fountain pen one day, but with the way I go through pens, and how cheap they are to purchase, I can’t justify the expense.

11. What are the three tracks you have on repeat right now?

Right now? Nothing, since I’m not listening to music at the moment…but I can tell you what they would be if I were.
I write to instrumental music, if it has lyrics it has to be in a language I don’t understand … or I lose concentration.

1. Child of Light – Lindsey Stirling
2. Pavane in F-sharp minor – Gabriel Faure
3. Instrumental version of ‘Don’t let me go’ – Avril Lavine & Chad Kroger

* * * * *
And that the end of the questions. That wasn’t too painful. The next bit might be. I think that since Myk came up with such good questions, I might cheat and use his for my list of bloggers.

1.What books on your night stand right now? I mean really. Photographic proof please.
2. First thing you do when you sit down to write? No lying, Ill know if you’re lying.
3. The first fictional character you fell in love with? I’m talking in sitting in a tree K-I-S-S-I-N-G luuuurrrrvvveee.
4. When and where do you do most of your reading?
5. Is there a book that you absolutely hated, I’m talking fire of a thousand suns kind of stuff.
6. Your favourite thing/item on your writing desk/space? Bobblehead? Nerdy mug? Cat? Lack of cat?
7. What was the last book that you read? and would you recommend it? If not why not?
8. Do you have a default read? Something you keep going back to?
9. Best time of the day to write & preferred beverage to fuel said session?
10. Blue, black or red pen? Please substantiate, there will be brownie points for correct answers.
11. What are the three tracks you have on repeat right now?

Thinking of bloggers for the next link in the chain is a little harder. Any I can think of, he’s already nominated. So, now I have to think of other people I can pester pass this prestigious award on to.

Elizabeth Ellen Carter – eecarter.com
Dionne Lister – Dionne Lister Writer

That’s not to say I don’t have many friends, I’m just so unused to passing on chain letter type things, I’m not sure who’ll find them a nusence and who’ll participate.
I’ll give it a bash with these two amazing Australian authors and we’ll see where we go from there.

Thanks Myk, for an interesting experience.

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Blog Hop

  1. You know, I never do chaing letters either, but I don’t really consider this kind of challenge chain letters. They are more a way to pass on the love and help fellow bloggers to get discovered, that’s why I always do them.

    I really like your answers (the questions were good too) and getting to know you a little better.

    What to know a funny thing? While a was reading your post, a friend nominated me for the Libster Award. I got the notification while reading your post.
    It was kind of strange… but nice 🙂

  2. I mirror the chain mail sentiment, it tends to get a bit out of hand sometimes but that said I’ve really enjoyed reading all the responses to these posts.
    Had same thing with game of thrones, I tried really hard, finished book 1 and even got started on 2 before I just gave up. Don’t have time to spend on things I’m not enjoying. Sorry to say it just wasn’t for me.
    I approve of entwined naked couples in any setting but especially on desks.
    Also you can’t go wrong with Lindsey Stirling, she is writing session rocket fuel.
    Thanks for playing along T, appreciate it!
    M

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

