Chasing the dream

I read a blog post by Kristen Lamb the other day. Basically it says that of all the people who want to write a book (and there is quite a number) only 5% will do it. There are not many people who can do what a writer does. Sits down for hours, days, weeks, months and years to write 10,000,000’s of words, nearly day in – day out.

Internet Meme - http://imgur.com/gallery/3RTt6
Internet Meme – http://imgur.com/gallery/3RTt6

If there are a 1,000,000 people who want to write a book only 50,000 will start to write it.

Of the 50,000 only 2,500 will complete the book.

Of the 2,500 only 125 will publish

Of the 125 only 6 will start to write the next book

 

(Oh, goody the odds are in my favour. 😀 )

 

But seriously, until you start, it’s hard to understand just how complex and time-consuming it is.

 

Being a self-published author brings things into a whole new mindset. Not only do you need to start, complete, edit, re-edit, publish and write the next book, you’ve got a whole list of other things to worry about.

 

 

ISBN’s

Covers

Cover reveals

Launch dates

Dead lines

Following up on EVERYBODY from beta readers to query emails to the tax office.

Getting the word out (without spamming) about the current book.

Getting the word out (without spamming) about the next book.

Continuing to get the word out (without spamming) about your backlist – if you have one.

Networking

Keeping track of where you are up to with each book and what still needs to be done.

Time management.

 

It’s not a simple case of writing a book, then writing the next one.

Fortunately for me, all of this is still shiny, new and exciting…the novelty hasn’t worn off yet.

Unfortunately for me, I have yet to get everything streamlined and completely organised. I’m still making mistakes, and trying to move onto the next step, while forgetting that I actually haven’t completed the previous two steps yet. Or not realising that a particular step needs to be taken at all.

I think the biggest learning curve while attending the RWDU recently was that…I’m not alone in all of this. It’s not just me, my keyboard and my cup of coffee. There are people out there that have been where I am…and they are so encouraging. Cheering me on for even the smallest achievement, and giving me advice from their own experiences.

On the flip side there are people out there who are yet to be where I am. It’s an amazing feeling to cheer them on and let them know what has worked for me…and what hasn’t…along the way. It’s so weird to consider that I can give advice on self-publishing. I’m still a novice at it. And I try to make it clear that this did…or didn’t…work for me, but that doesn’t mean that you have to…or not…try it for yourself.

I love writing. It’s my passion. As for all the ins and outs of self-publishing, it’s kind of the whole package deal. It’s what it takes to get the words from my mind into a book that I hold in my hand…which has my name on the cover.

Is it hard work? Yes.

Is it time consuming? Yes.

Is it exhausting? Yes.

Is it fun and exciting? Yes.

Is it something I want to do for a little while longer? You bet ya.

It’s a funny thing, having a passion. You’ll put up with a lot of hassles, frustrations and sleepless nights just to see it happen. But the fire inside is fanned with each achievement, each successful goal reached, every milestone ticked off along the way.

Passion will move men beyond themselves, beyond their shortcomings, beyond their failures.
– Joseph Campbell

3 thoughts on “Chasing the dream

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

