Resolutions

Photo: Sparklers by Brittany Randolph. (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)
Photo: Sparklers by Brittany Randolph. (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

 

The Google found definition tells me that ‘resolution’ is a noun and means:-

A firm decision to do or not to do something.

Fair enough.

According to several websites and blogs (where the information came from originally – I have no idea. I tried to find it but had to give up after about 4 hours.) New Year’s resolutions began with the Babylonians, who apparently made promises to the gods in hopes they’d garner good favour in the coming year.

Now days, it’s a secular tradition which some people attempt every year, and others flatly refuse to attempt. At all. Ever. The tradition of making a decision on New Year’s Day to do or not do something. A resolution.

As 2014 came to a close, I realised I’d actually achieved mine. Mine was a carry over, I must admit, from 2013. But in 2013, I started and in 2014, I completed. I achieved. I did.

My resolution in 2013 was to have a book published. As the year wore on and I did the research and made a few mistakes, I learned what it would take and the how. As 2013 drew to a close and 2014 began, I made definite steps, pinpointed goals and worked towards it. In September 2014, Shattered was published. I did it. I had fulfilled my New Year’s Resolution.

So what was different? How did I spend so many years making ‘resolutions’ then never see them coming into fruition, only to have it work for 2014?

Firstly, I told someone. My husband. I told him that I had resolved to have my book published by the end of 2013. As it turned out, 2013 was an interesting year. I had two operations and my husband lost his job. It was a year that was a struggle financially. Any ‘book’ budget I’d gained, was gone. Life got in the way and it meant that the money had to be used elsewhere.
I didn’t waste my year though. I contacted a self-published author I’d met in 2011 and we had a very, very, very long chat, (7 hours I think) where I picked her brains about anything and everything I could think of. I researched editors, cover designers, created my Facebook account and my Twitter account and learned a little about social media. Any self-published author I found via these avenues I questioned – interrogated more like it – and tried to figure out, of their experience, what would suit me. I had my book edited, and re-edited and re-edited and re-edited. I learned about the tax systems between USA and Australia. I found out about ISBNs. I started to teach myself HTML code.

Then came 2014. I spent this year actually pinpointing the steps and actively working towards them. I sat dates that things were due by. I over estimated and under estimated length of time for things. I under estimated the time it would take to save the money to pay for things. Then there was the OP factor. Relying on Other People (OP). People who don’t have the same goal, or schedule or for whom real life got in the way and they were unable to deliver. Dates were moved. Deadlines were adjusted. There were tears and tantrums, a lot of ‘hurry-up-and-wait’, and a lot of ‘yippee-look-what-I-achieved’ moments.

My husband kept me accountable, asking me what I’d achieved, what I was working on, and where I was in my ‘goal-line’ (kind of like my time-line).

And I achieved it.

The first and most important step, I think, was telling someone. Someone, I knew and trusted, would kept me accountable. Secondly, I set targets. Goals. Little steps along the way that told me, ‘you’re doing it, keep going’. Sometimes when a resolution is too ‘lofty’ there is no way on Earth it is achievable.

“I’m going to lose weight.”
Great.
How much? In total? Per month? Per week?
How? What is your eating plan? You shopping list? You menu? What exercise? How much a day/week? When will you schedule it?

Strangely, I didn’t set a New Year’s Resolution this year. I didn’t need to. It’s the same as last year.
I’m going to publish a book.

I’ve already got the plan. The goals. And I know I’ll achieve it. (Baring a major catastrophe outside of my control.)

What about you? Did you achieve your resolution for 2014?
Did you make one for 2015?

Will you achieve it?

2 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. You know? I’ve never set goal at the beginning of the year, because I think things come when you’re ready to get them, and you not always know when that is.

    This doesn’t mean I don’t work towards them. I actually think we have to work hard toward our goals all the time, because otherwise what you hope for will come to you when it’s time, and you won’t be ready. sometime you won’t even realise it.

    So I don’t think the beginning of the year is a special time for resolutions. I think it should be the same as always 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

