Sheila Kell Blog Tour

How long would it take for him to turn into an ass again? She caught Jesse’s gaze and found herself momentarily mesmerized by his golden-brown eyes. What the hell?

HIS Desire (An H.I.S. novel) is a romantic suspense, stand-alone novel in the H.I.S. series released Nov 5th.

Can Jesse Hamilton, the head of H.I.S., protect his client when his past and his heart have put them both in jeopardy?
Synopsis
When FBI Special Agent Kate Ross is injured in a drive-by shooting, Hamilton Investigation and Security, Inc. (H.I.S.) leader Jesse Hamilton, believing she is the target of a killer seeking revenge against him, pulls the full force of H.I.S. into action to protect her.
Kate doesn’t believe Jesse, the only man to make her seethe one minute and lust after him the next, when he approaches her with a note from the Facilitator stating someone he loved would die shortly, and he knows in his gut it’s Kate. After a second attempt on her life, she can no longer fight his protection or her attraction to him.

After making a mistake that cost his wife her life, Jesse vowed to never love again, but Kate stirs something in him that puts his protective instincts into overdrive. Keeping her alive and out of his heart is more difficult than he expected. Then he makes a decision that could cost Kate her life. Is history due to repeat itself?

 

 

 

Author TP Hogan – Author Interview

1. When did you start to think to yourself ‘Hey, I can actually be an author’ and can you tell us a little of your journey which brought you to the point of being an author today?
I’ve always thought about being a writer, even in high school I wanted to be a journalist. But, I never acted on it. The thought of never making enough money to survive didn’t appeal to me. Over the years I would dream up short stories and sometimes write down scenes and chapters. Then one day a couple of years ago, I sat down at my corporate job and decided there had to be more, something I really wanted to do. I retired early and decided I’d try writing for a living. I didn’t do much but outline a few stories. Nothing got me excited about writing. Then one day, bam, I started drafting up a series about the Hamilton brothers. Well, it didn’t actually start out that way, but changed to it when I started writing. I haven’t been able to stop writing since.

2. What advice would you give to anyone who would like to write a novel?
The easy advice I received was ‘just write’. As my life showed, until you actually sit down and write it, it’ll never materialize. I would also recommend befriending a few writer friends, even if they are in the works for their first novel. This type of support system was invaluable to me.

3. From beginning to end all stories go through various changes before they are published. As I understand it, the title of this book went through many changes before it came to be ‘H.I.S Desire’. Can you tell us a little about that, and why the H.I.S is so important?
Let me answer the second question first. I was looking for something to tie the series together. Something tugged at me to have something in common for the title. I brainstormed it with two of my friends and one of us came up with H.I.S. and using HIS to start each title. I’m not sure who started the idea, but it became a group effort in the end.

To me, Jesse’s story would be titled HIS Desire because he would be battling certain demons. I actually wrote a novel, called it HIS Desire, and submitted it to agents. It didn’t get picked up. Then, I started writing the next book in the sequence and realized it was actually perfect for Jesse’s story, so I rewrote Jesse’s story. At the time I intended to submit it to agents also and knew I couldn’t use the same title so soon, I decided to name it HIS Redemption. It really didn’t fit for me. So, when I decided to self-publish instead, I went with the title that suited Jesse and his story – HIS Desire.

4. Most of the reviews for ‘H.I.S. Desire’ are 4 or 5 stars (congratulations by the way) and most of them mention the wonder at the twist they never saw coming. Revealing only as much as you want to about the story, how difficult is it to write a ‘suspenseful novel that thrills with the unseen twist’?
It was harder than I thought it would be to drop small hints throughout the book that didn’t give it away completely. Several times I found myself pondering over how to reveal only so much more than other things. Obviously the hints were perfect because it was has been a surprise so far, but anyone going back and looking for them would find them. They’d realize there was something else going on, but probably not the extent of the twist. I kept that a little too close to the vest.

5. Aside from being a fantastic stand-alone novel, H.I.S Desire is actually part of a series. What was the most fun, or most challenging part of writing ‘H.I.S Desire’ with that in mind?
I enjoyed introducing the brothers and the team. I was able to spend some time with them without taking away from the story. They were actually part of it. The hardest part was not giving too much away on the other brothers for their future novels. I did set up some things on a couple of the brothers, but I felt it would be too much to start something on each of them. But, oh how I wanted to…

 
 

http://smarturl.it/HISDesire

 

Sheila has been an avid reader since she was young, believing in fantasy worlds, women sleuths and happily-ever-after. Instead of writing as a career, she followed in her father’s footsteps and joined the U.S. Air Force. After 12 years, she left the military as a disabled veteran then spent 12 year in higher education executive leadership. After reading her first romantic suspense novel, Sheila finally knew what she wanted to write. She has since retired to fulfill that dream. When not writing, she reads or spends time with her family. She lives in Batesville, Mississippi with three rescue cats.
2 signed HIS Desire paperbacks
5 ebooks of HIS Desire
2 swag packs
2 keychains
2 purse clips
5 bookmarks

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “Sheila Kell Blog Tour

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

