Bookie Monster

Photo: Bookworm by Arbyreed.  CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Photo: Bookworm by Arbyreed. CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

It has been said that I devour books. I’d like to, right here and now, debunk that notion. I get my fibre from other sources thank you very much.

I do, however, read. Voraciously. And apparently quite quickly. I can read a 40,000ish word story in about an hour and a half, maybe two hours. On a day off, with nothing else planned, I can read my way through 5 – 7 books. This seems to surprise people. I don’t speed read or skim read or whatever the heck it’s called. I just read.

As a kid, it used to surprise me that people would take days to read a book. I couldn’t understand it. Once you’d open a book, you read it. It was as simple as that.

It was exciting. You’d escape to a whole new world.

The spice of a mystery.

The smooth chocolate of a romance.

The roast and trimmings of an action adventure.

Then I grew up.

Housework, family, husband, work, social life, internet…all these things take time. Time away from reading. Once you opened a book there is no guarantee that you’ll finish it with no interruptions.

I can still read at the same speed, and I still get accused of devouring books. My to-be-read pile doesn’t go down at the same rate because I don’t read quite as many books in succession. And I still think people who take days to read a book are weird.

So what’s my point?

I think the speed I read is normal, and I’m always surprised at how surprised people are that I’ve ‘finished that book already’. If I read at a rate people think is fast then how fast is supposed to be normal. I’m not sure if that is a point, per sae, but it was the question that birthed this post.

Do you have an answer?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Bookie Monster

  1. I envy your speed-reading abilities. When life gets in my way, I may have to start completely over. I love to read, but I may only get 10 minutes in the car-rider line or a few minutes before my eyes involuntarily close and if a few days pass – I just have to start over and at least re-skim over what I have already read.

    • Yeah, if a few days go by, I have to back track and re-read too. But that happens so rarely. I’m a natural night owl, so reading until 2am doesn’t bother me. It’s worth it to finish a book.

  2. I’m impressed that you can read several books in a day. Reading is the best isn’t it! Have you read The Book Thief yet? That took me a little longer to read than I was expecting but it was a really inspiring book.

    • I haven’t read ‘The Book Thief’ yet, but it as it was recommended by someone who ‘loves to hate it’, it’s on my to-be-read pile. (The one I don’t get to quite as often as I use to).
      I don’t read several books a day, everyday. I’d love to though, it’s only on days I don’t have anything pending or planned.

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

