A Spoon A Day

Photo: Spoons by Jason Yung, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Photo: Spoons by Jason Yung, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

 

They say that all it takes for medicine to go down is a spoonful of sugar, but what if what you really needed was the spoon?

I have a friend with Aquired Brain Injury (ABI), two with cancer, one with emphysema, two with thyroid conditions, two with PTSD, a new acquaintance with Aspergers, an entire family I know has diabetes, then there is someone with bipolar, another with clinical depression and yet another with an anxiety disorder.

Yet, these people I know live seemingly ‘normal’ lives. Sometimes is so hard to remember these people have any sort of ‘disorder’, ‘illness’ or ‘issue’ at all. Until they need to count carbohydrates and calculate the insulin before they can share an ice-cream with me, or tell me to slow down when walking because they can’t catch their breath, or ask to keep their medicine in my fridge when they come around for dinner. I know they have to adjust their lifestyle to be ‘normal’ but I didn’t understand quite how much.

It’s one thing to know, it’s quite another to understand. My friend with ABI shared a post with me, about spoons, which helped me understand. I misplaced the story for a long time but Jenn from My Fibrotastic Life helped me find it again.

The post is called The Spoon Theory by Christine Miserandino from ButYouDon’tLookSick.com and it really is an eye opener.

If you know anyone, anyone at all, who needs to adjust their lifestyle to be ‘normal’ – for whatever reason, then you need to read this. It will help you understand.

And all it takes is spoons.

2 thoughts on “A Spoon A Day

  1. I have a student who is 19 who was diagnosed with fibromyalgia recently (she has been suffering from it for several years), and she told me and my wife about the spoon thing. It is a very interesting way of looking at it, so when we see her having a moment we ask her how many spoons she has left (btw, she is kind of one of my adopted kids, so.. ).

    • I’m really glad that Christine Miserandino explains it the way that she does. It really does make sense and it’s so easy to understand. It’s also a great reference to explain how ‘bad’ or ‘good’ a day is.
      “I’ve only got three spoons left today.”

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

