A ‘Raven’ Fear; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 17

Day 17 – We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears. Write this post in a distinct style from your own.


This one was difficult for me. Over time I have written in several different styles and it was hard to find something I hadn’t done before. Then it hit me. I don’t write poetry. So without much further ado…and sincerest apologies to Mr Edger Allan Poe…here is my post for Day 17.


Once upon a challenge writing, while I pondered what was frightening,
And trying to decide which style I’d never tried to write before
As I looked for work inspiring, being different I’m desiring,
Fresh idea I am aspiring, of the one who’s gone in yore,
I’ll try poetry, I muttered, of the one who’s gone in yore,
Never done this thing for sure

So poetry is decided, and my style is ‘Poe’ provided,
Now I need to find some substance for my post on fear to start.
In the phobias assorted, (and my sanity is thwarted),
For when Google is a-courted, then be still my beating heart
An endless list provided, then be still my beating heart
Paring searches is an art

While the list appears unending, and some time on this I’m spending
To tackle a task with phobias is a fear within itself
Latin words they are abounding, diverse fears they are astounding
This madness is compounding, and they tell me this is fun
I’m frightened by all the fears now, and they tell me this is fun
Now this ends it, I am done

 

12 thoughts on “A ‘Raven’ Fear; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 17

  1. Wow, I like this. I’m looking for the “like”-button on your site. Where is it?

    What a clever way to work on this exercise. I have written a lot of poetry but almost never form-bound poetry. That seems difficult but also rewarding.

    • This was my first time writing poetry.
      It was a lot of fun, though it took a little to get my head around the meter/cadence.
      And like I said in the poem, I stole…um…took inspiration from the meter in Poe’s poem, The Raven, so I didn’t have to come up with it on my own.
      PS. The Like button is at the bottom of the page, but before the comment area 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

