Dear Respect; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 14

Day 14 – Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. Write the post in the form of a letter. (FYI the book is “For Women Only” by Shaunti Feldhahn)


Dear Respect,

I’ve missed you since you moved away. It would have been nice if you’d actually told me you’d planned on leaving. Perhaps I could have taken photos to supplement my fast fading memory of what you were like. There is no hint of you left anymore. No scent in the air, no echo of a sound, no sight of things you left behind.

The thing I remember most is the fact that you always put others first. You never rushed to be ahead. You never fought to be the first. You never put others down to make yourself look big. You always asked what you could do for others. It was the little things. Opening doors. Standing on a crowded train. Giving others first choice. If you were doing for you, you’d always do for someone else too. I can never remember a time when you were inconsiderate, unthoughtful or inattentive.

It saddens me when I see the memory of you slipping from every day conscience. I don’t want to forget. I dread to think of a world where you do not live. A world where the individual is more important than the collective. A world where selfishness, self-centeredness and the value of ‘mine’ reign supreme. A world where politeness, courtesy and deference are no more than words used once, long ago.

It is a delightful surprise when someone remembers you too. It is more than a mention. No, you were such an influence in so many lives, that a mere mention is never enough. Perhaps it will cheer you to hear, that when someone does remember you, they do so in their actions, words and thoughts.

Please tell me your journey away is not for long. I could not bear to be parted from you forever. Please tell me you are gone for a holiday. Gone to impact so many other lives with your shear personality.

While I remember you fondly, I look forward to…no I yearn, for your return. I hope it will not be long in coming.

Yours in love.
TP

12 thoughts on “Dear Respect; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 14

  1. You managed to style your message as a letter. Nice work. I was not so lucky, the closest book to me was a diccionary and I didn´t want to write a letter to a strange word in a language not my native one. Only using the language was challenge enough for me.

    • If you faced that challenge then you have also done well.
      I know a little German but I wouldn’t have the foggiest notion on how to write it. You write in two languages, I’d say…Challenge accomplished.

    • A dictionary? Oh absolutely, in as many versions as possible.

      Oh you meant the book I was reading. 🙂 ‘For Woman Only’ by Shaunti Feldhahn.

      It’s not a reading for pleasure book. It’s a study book, on learning how men think and why they act the way they do. It is also Christian based. If these points haven’t sent you running for the hills, then yes I would highly recommend it. It is a real eye-opener to understanding men. Not only is it good when applied to a marriage, it’s great research for male characters in writing stories.

      By the way, if you want a real eye-opener, read the flip book ‘For Men Only’. It explains how we women see things and why we react the way we do. Learning what men don’t know about us is astounding. I spent most of my time asking my husband ‘Really, you didn’t know that?’

      • Since I didn´t find them in any local library, not even the university library, I’m buying a ” For couples only” box set for only 161 swedish crowns.

      • That’s fantastic. 🙂
        Let me know what you think of them.
        I’d suggest reading the ‘For Woman Only’ first, then ‘For Men Only’.
        PS I have a ‘Contact Me’ page

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

