Food, Glorious…Coffee?; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 10

Day 10 – Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory. Free free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.


Obviously I ate as a child. I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t. However food doesn’t inspire strong emotional memories. I don’t remember a particular treat and I don’t have a ‘favourite’ meal.

I have foods that I like and foods I wouldn’t touch again with a barge pole.
Then there’s chocolate, but that’s a whole other story.

Growing up in more tropic climates and living in ‘the land down under’ means that December is in summer.
No ‘White Christmas’ for this little black duck.
Christmas was seafood and stone fruits.
It didn’t start off that way. We always had the traditional English Christmas. Hot meats and stodgy puddings.
The year that my Grandma died, the family Christmas was held at our house and that was the first Christmas with the seafood, stone fruits, salads, cold cut meats, followed by ice cream, melons, custards and jellies for dessert.
The next year my Uncle and Aunt followed my mum’s lead and the next year the next round of Uncle and Aunts did the same, and the next year and the next year and the next….well, you get the drift.
Now Christmas isn’t Christmas to me without at least a nod to the seafood and stone fruit.

That’s it. That pretty much sums up food in the ‘deep roots of my memory’.

I can’t even think of a ‘moment’ of food now that I’m no longer a child. The instant memories which rise when I do think about it, isn’t of food at all.

It’s the humble ‘cuppa’.
Coffee, tea, chocolate, as long as it’s a ‘cuppa’ it brings moments and memories.

Moments of conversations in coffee shops, revelations in a friend’s lounge room, laughter when trying a new herbal tea and seeing the exposed first reactions by the faces pulled and the combined agreement on the shuddering disgust of a ‘Maccas’ so called ‘coffee’.

News of babies, marriages, divorces, people moving away, meeting new people, finding out that a friend has cancer, celebrating the gain of a pilot licence and just discussing life…all done with a cuppa in hand.

A lemon-honey tea when I’m sick. An instant coffee to give me the caffeine boost to write. A home made layered-flavoured-latte at the close of a meal with guests. A herbal tea party with a bunch of girlfriends. A visit to the coffee shop to catch up. A hot tea to chase the chill from a cold morning. A hot chocolate to end the night.

These are the memories I have. These are the moments I remember. This is the comfort I find and the celebrations shared.

Not food…but a ‘cuppa’.

7 thoughts on “Food, Glorious…Coffee?; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 10

  1. My daughter, almost 3 years old, just asked me why is Christmas in winter. I replied I don´t know but there are places where people live where they have Christmas in summer. One 6 year old from her pre-school will soon move to such a place. She doesn´t know him well but I hope she understood something anyway.

    How wise of you to change to summerfood in summer.

  2. I grew up with summer Christmas – but now live with winter Christmases which I have grown to love! I too appreciate the moments that food/cuppas afford – more than the food itself. Great post.

  3. To think what I’ve missed out on as a non-coffee drinker. I suppose I’ve had different experiences in it’s place. I used to fill a tall coffee mug with Coke Zero so that I could sip a cup with the rest of the parents during assembly at school, for instance.

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

