‘She’; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 6

Day 6 – Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?


Eclectic.

If I could only use one word to describe her, that would be it. If I couldn’t use that one, I’d probably use loud.

I’m not just talking about her voice – though heaven knows if she ever was fired she’d make one heck of a living as a fog horn – I’m talking about her personality and her attitude toward life.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen her wear ‘just’ the uniform. She always has something added to it. A vest, belts, tons of silver jewellery, shells, beads, witches hats, ribbons, head bands, gloves or the ever present pink gumboots worn with bright lime and purple stockings.

She doesn’t think small. If she wants to celebrate something, you don’t miss it. Australia day had blow up thongs (the flip-flop variety for those who don’t live in ‘the land down-under’), flags, coolers, streamers, balloons, games of two-up and a huge boxing kangaroo.

She’ll make a fuss and a fanfare, blowing trumpets and setting off streamer poppers. She doesn’t walk, she dances and giggles, flounces and flaps.

She may leave you with a headache from her bright colours and loud commotion but you can be guaranteed of one thing.

There will never be a time when she’s visited…that you’ll be left without a smile.

 

18 thoughts on “‘She’; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 6

  1. Good writing. You did well without mentioning her looks. You are already on a higher level. I probably need to mix in all sorts of adjectives in my describtions still, but you have come through that level …

    • Thanks Emma,
      I didn’t realise there were ‘levels’. Do I get a prize?
      Seriously, thanks for the feedback. I’m so used to describing ‘characters’ by their looks that this one was a challenge for me.

  2. Hi! I not used to des
    ribing “charachers” because I have mostly written poetry about ideas and minds where the speakers in the discussion could be almost whoever.

    • Thank you for your comment. It was a challenge to describe without physical attributes, so I’m glad you like it.
      As for the theme, I love it too. Makes me feel as though I’m writing in a journal.

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

