An Ocean of Songs; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 3

Day 3 – Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?


What at the three most important songs in my life?

I’m not sure.

I have two ‘favourite’ songs, but they’re my favourite because I like to listen to them. I have an ‘our’ song with my husband, does that mean it rates higher on the ‘important’ song list because of the connotation?

I have such an eclectic taste in music. I listen to different music all the time. Sometimes multiple styles in the one day. It depends how I’m feeling or what I’m doing. If it’s housework, I want something with a beat that I can blast from the speakers. If it’s trying to focus I want something without lyrics. If I’m trying to get out of a funk, then I want the lyrics.

I grew up with music on all the time. I don’t really remember long periods of my life that didn’t have music. My step-father always had the radio on. My mum plays piano and flute, my sister plays cello (and used to play timpani) and I play the violin. I’ve spent time working in country, community and Christian radio stations and each one of those has left its mark. I’ve sung in choirs, church and musicals on stage.

I love concerts, drum solos, concertos, musicals and acapella bands. I can chill out to a cool jazz number and really rock it out to an eight minute Queen hit. I can curl up on a couch and cry as the words touch my soul or I can stand with my friend in her driveway and belt it out to tunes on her phone.

There has only been, two maybe three styles of music that I stay well away from. Others, I only like a handful of songs in that style…then there is the rest.

So what would I rank as the three most important songs in my life? That’s kind of asking me to choose which three drops of ocean I like best. There have been many important songs in moments of my life, but as those moments pass, so to does the importance of the song. To hear a song after a long time will bring back memories and moments that I wish I could hold again, or that I’m glad have past me by, but to rank them in order categorical is a task too big to undertake. It’s ever changing. Constantly moving. Never stationary.

It takes more than three drops of water to make an ocean.

10 thoughts on “An Ocean of Songs; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 3

    • Thank you. I kept thinking I wasn’t answering the question. I forgot about the free-flow part of it.
      Thank you for pointing that out.

  1. I think it stands out because you put into words what most music lovers were thinking about this challenge,”…kind of asking me to choose which three drops of ocean I like best.” Nicely done!

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

