20 Minutes; Writing 101 Challenge – Day 1

Day 1 – Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.


 

I took today’s challenge on the day of the challenge (a little later than some because I’m in a time zone which is half a world away from the time zone of the challenge), but delayed posting it. The result turned out to be quite personal and surprising. In the end I’ve decided to post a little of my experience in doing the challenge anyway; even if I’m not going to post the actual response.

It wasn’t about what I thought it would be. I thought something like this would produce a page of absolute drivel. Not at all.

It was interesting. At first it was the usual things when one is told to write for twenty minutes.

“So twenty minutes to write. That’s actually a lot of time when you think about it. What do I want to write about?…”

Once I stopped trying to control my thoughts, crowded with ‘what should I do’s’, characters, plots, commitments, appointments, plans for dinner and a whole heap of other clutter, and just wrote…it was as if I’d turned on a faucet and this stuff just rushed out.

This was actually a good exercise, allowing me to focus in on something that I hadn’t even realised. Almost like spring cleaning a room and finding a hundred dollar note.

I strongly encourage you to take twenty minutes yourself and just write. Close your eyes if you need to just to stop the distractions and just write. I’m sure you’ll surprise yourself.

Like what you read? Tell me about it.

